The cycle of child sexual abuse stops now.

Project
ArachnidTM

Model in image and intended as illustrative

Summary

Canadian Centre for Child Protection logo

In 2016, on a quest to reduce the availability of child sexual abuse images and videos globally and help break the cycle of abuse experienced by survivors, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection (Canadian Centre) introduced Project Arachnid.

The Canadian Centre is committed to supporting the unique needs of survivors, finding ways to help them have a voice, and harnessing technology to help them address their ongoing fear that someone may see images or videos of their sexual abuse. More must be done to address this growing global issue, and Project Arachnid is a major step in the right direction.

Model in image and intended as illustrative
“As survivors of this type of abuse we have no control over whether it is distributed. It’s just another way our abusers have control. Every time I imagine him watching back those videos, looking at those pictures, for his amusement I can feel a piece of me break off with every replay.”
— Survivor of child sexual abuse material

What is it?

Operated by the Canadian Centre, Project Arachnid is an innovative tool to combat the growing proliferation of child sexual abuse material (CSAM) on the internet.

The Project Arachnid platform was initially designed to crawl links on sites previously reported to Cybertip.ca that contained CSAM and detect where these images/videos are being made publicly available. Once child sexual abuse material is detected, a notice is sent to the provider hosting the content requesting its removal.

Project Arachnid still carries out the crawling activities described above, but it is continually evolving and adapting to enhance its capabilities to detect CSAM. For example, an API for industry has been developed for use by electronic service providers (ESPs) to improve upon and accelerate the detection of this harmful material, thus facilitating its speedy removal.

Model in image and intended as illustrative

How does it work?

Project Arachnid discovers CSAM by crawling URLs previously reported to Cybertip.ca, as well as URLs reported directly into the Arachnid API. The platform determines that a particular URL contains CSAM by comparing the media displayed on the URL to a database of known signatures that have been assessed by analysts as CSAM. If CSAM is detected, a notice is sent to the hosting provider requesting its removal.

Processing tens of thousands of images per second, Project Arachnid detects content at a pace that far exceeds that of traditional methods of identifying and addressing this harmful material.

Model in image and intended as illustrative

Project Arachnid is currently detecting over 100,000 unique images per month that require analyst assessment, and this number has been increasing each month.

  • As of November 2, 2018:
  • Over 55 billion images processed
  • 5.5 million images triggered for analyst review
  • More than 4,200 victim series detected
  • 1.1 million notices sent to providers
  • 85% of the notices issued relate to victims who are not known to have been identified by police

Hotline Collaboration

Project Arachnid detects content at a rapid pace and offers a global approach to reducing the availability of CSAM. This system has been significantly enriched by collaborating with child protection hotlines around the world. In 2017, the Canadian Centre created the Arachnid Orb—a device that allows other international hotlines to work collaboratively within Project Arachnid. The Arachnid Orb enables analysts worldwide to pool their collective expertise, thus reducing the duplication of assessment and ultimately increasing the number of notices that can be sent through Project Arachnid. A number of hotlines around the world are either participating or interested in supporting the efforts to reduce the availability of CSAM through Project Arachnid.

The larger the volume of trusted, quality assured hashes, the more effective Project Arachnid will become at detecting CSAM and expediting the request to providers to remove these harmful images and videos.

The Canadian Centre is committed to reducing the victimization experienced by survivors, as well as reducing duplication of efforts and exposure to analysts on a global scale.

Industry API

Rather than waiting for Project Arachnid to detect material and send a notice, industry can use the Arachnid API to quickly detect known CSAM on their service, which will, in turn, speed up its removal.

Industry members that do not wish to interact directly with the API can register their service/domain with the Canadian Centre to have any notices sent directly to them instead of being sent to their hosting provider.

Other industries, such as filtering providers, can download real-time lists of URLs that are believed to currently contain CSAM for filtering purposes.

For access to a testing/demo version of the Arachnid API, please contact us.

Model in image and intended as illustrative

FAQ

Who operates Project Arachnid?
The Canadian Centre for Child Protection (Canadian Centre) is a national charity dedicated to the personal safety of all children. The Canadian Centre operates Cybertip.ca, Canada’s tipline to report the online sexual abuse and exploitation of children. The tipline is a central component of the Government of Canada’s National Strategy for the Protection of Children from Sexual Exploitation on the Internet. In 2016, the Canadian Centre introduced Project Arachnid, a platform to reduce the online availability child sexual abuse material (CSAM). Project Arachnid was developed by the Canadian Centre and is managed within Cybertip.ca.
Is there a charge to use the industry API for Project Arachnid?
No. The industry API is made available to approved participants at no charge. Industry participants do bear their own internal costs to integrate the API into their technical operations.
How can my organization get involved?
Contact us for more information and access to a testing/demo version of the API. All participating companies must have a legitimate business purpose for participating in Project Arachnid, as determined by the Canadian Centre.
How does Project Arachnid work with mandatory reporting legislation in my country?
Notices are currently being issued directly through the Project Arachnid system to service providers that are located in either the United States or Canada. Both of those countries mandate that service providers report “child pornography” to either police or another mandated entity. What needs to be reported, to whom, and within what time frame varies by country and by type of provider. When CSAM is detected for a service provider that appears to be located in a country other than Canada or the U.S., a Project Arachnid notification is sent to the hotline within that jurisdiction. The individual hotline then carries out its own obligations vis-a-vis the provider in that jurisdiction.
Is there a reporting tool built in to the API to support mandatory reporting obligations?
We are currently working with the National Centre for Missing and Exploited Child (NCMEC) in the U.S. to have Project Arachnid facilitate U.S. mandatory reporting obligations.

Supporters

The following governments and organizations are supportive of the objectives of Project Arachnid:

Le cycle des abus pédosexuels s’arrête ici.

Projet
ArachnidMD

Photo d’un mannequin. Pour illustrer le texte.

Sommaire

Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) a lancé Projet Arachnid en 2016 dans le dessein de réduire la disponibilité des photos et des vidéos d’abus pédosexuels à l’échelle planétaire et de briser le cycle des abus subis par les survivantes et survivants.

Le CCPE veut desservir les besoins particuliers des survivantes et survivants, trouver des moyens de les aider à se faire entendre et exploiter la technologie pour les aider à apaiser leur inquiétude constante à l’idée que quelqu’un puisse voir les images des abus qu’ils ont subis. Il reste encore beaucoup à faire pour résoudre cette problématique mondiale grandissante, et Projet Arachnid constitue une avancée majeure en ce sens.

Photo d’un mannequin. Pour illustrer le texte.
« Les survivants de pareils abus n’ont aucun contrôle sur les images. Ça donne encore plus de contrôle à nos abuseurs. Quand je l’imagine en train de regarder ces photos et ces vidéos pour son propre plaisir, je sens qu’une partie de moi se détache à chaque reprise. »
— Survivante d’abus pédosexuels avec prise d’images

De quoi s’agit-il?

Projet Arachnid est une initiative novatrice du CCPE pour combattre la prolifération grandissante des images d’abus pédosexuels sur Internet.

À la base, la plateforme de Projet Arachnid a été conçue pour explorer les liens trouvés sur des sites où la présence d’images d’abus pédosexuels avait été signalée à Cyberaide.ca et détecter à quels endroits ces images étaient accessibles au public. Lorsque des images d’abus pédosexuels sont détectées, une demande de retrait est envoyée à l’hébergeur.

Project Arachnid poursuit ces activités d’exploration, mais il ne cesse d’évoluer et de s’adapter pour améliorer ses capacités de détection d’images d’abus pédosexuels. Par exemple, une API est mise à la disposition des fournisseurs de services électroniques dans le but d’améliorer et d’accélérer la détection de ces images nocives et de faire en sorte qu’elles soient retirées dans les plus brefs délais.

Photo d’un mannequin. Pour illustrer le texte.

Comment ça marche?

Projet Arachnid découvre les images d’abus pédosexuels en explorant les adresses URL préalablement signalées à Cyberaide.ca ainsi que celles qui sont entrées directement dans l’API d’Arachnid. Le système arrive à déterminer la présence d’images d’abus pédosexuels à une adresse URL en comparant les images qui s’y trouvent avec une banque de signatures connues qui ont été préalablement vérifiées par des analystes. Lorsque des images d’abus pédosexuels sont détectées, une demande de retrait est envoyée à l’hébergeur.

Par sa capacité de traiter des dizaines de milliers d’images à la seconde, Projet Arachnid surpasse largement les méthodes habituellement utilisées pour trouver et retirer ces images nocives.

Photo d’un mannequin. Pour illustrer le texte.

Projet Arachnid détecte en ce moment plus de 100 000 images différentes par mois; ces images doivent être vérifiées par un analyste et leur nombre augmente chaque mois.

  • Au decembre 2018 :
  • Nombre d’images traitées : Plus de 58 milliards
  • Nombre d’images retenues pour analyse humaine : 6,4 million
  • Nombre de séries victime détectées : Plus de 4 200
  • Nombre de demandes de retrait envoyées aux fournisseurs : 1,4 million
  • 85 % des demandes portent sur des victimes non identifiées par la police selon toute indication

Collaboration avec les centrales de signalement

Par sa rapidité de détection, Projet Arachnid permet d’agir à l’échelle mondiale pour réduire la disponibilité des images d’abus pédosexuels. Les capacités du système bénéficient largement de la collaboration de nombreuses centrales de signalement ailleurs dans le monde. En 2017, le CCPE a créé Arachnid Orb, un appareil grâce auquel les centrales d’autres pays peuvent collaborer à Project Arachnid. Arachnid Orb permet aux analystes du monde entier de mettre leurs expertises en commun afin de réduire les dédoublements d’efforts et d’en venir, à terme, à augmenter le nombre de demandes de retrait envoyées par l’entremise de Projet Arachnid. Les centrales de plusieurs pays se sont ralliées autour de Projet Arachnid dans l’optique de réduire la disponibilité des images d’abus pédosexuels ou se sont montrées intéressées.

À mesure que le nombre d’empreintes numériques vérifiées augmentera, Projet Arachnid deviendra de plus en plus efficace à détecter les images d’abus pédosexuels et à intervenir rapidement auprès des fournisseurs de services pour leur demander de retirer ces photos et ces vidéos nocives.

Le CCPE est déterminé à réduire les torts subis par les survivantes et survivants ainsi que les dédoublements d’efforts et l’exposition des analystes à l’échelle mondiale.

API pour les entreprises

Au lieu d’attendre que Projet Arachnid détecte des images et les en avise, les entreprises peuvent utiliser l’API d’Arachnid pour détecter rapidement les images connues sur leurs serveurs et en accélérer ainsi le retrait.

Les entreprises qui ne souhaitent pas interagir directement avec l’API peuvent enregistrer leur service ou leur domaine auprès du CCPE pour que les demandes de retrait leur soient envoyées directement à elles plutôt qu’à leur hébergeur.

Certaines entreprises, comme les services de filtrage, peuvent télécharger des listes dynamiques d’adresses URL menant à des images d’abus pédosexuels dans le but de les filtrer.

Contactez-nous, pour obtenir une version d’essai ou de démonstration de notre API.

Photo d’un mannequin. Pour illustrer le texte.

FAQ

Qui pilote Projet Arachnid?
Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) est un organisme de bienfaisance national voué à la protection personnelle de tous les enfants. Le CCPE administre Cyberaide.ca, la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels d’enfants sur Internet. Cyberaide.ca est un élément crucial de la Stratégie nationale du gouvernement du Canada pour la protection des enfants contre l’exploitation sexuelle sur Internet. En 2016, le CCPE a lancé Projet Arachnid, une plateforme visant à réduire la disponibilité des images d’abus pédosexuels sur Internet. Projet Arachnid a été mis au point par le CCPE et est géré par l’équipe de Cyberaide.ca.
Les entreprises doivent-elles payer pour utiliser l’API de Project Arachnid?
Non. L’API pour les entreprises est mise à la disposition des participants approuvés gratuitement. Les entreprises participantes assument elles-mêmes les coûts d’intégration de l’API avec leurs systèmes.
Comment mon organisme peut-il participer?
Contactez-nous pour en savoir davantage et obtenir une version d’essai ou de démonstration de notre API. Toute entreprise qui participe à Projet Arachnid doit avoir un motif légitime reconnu par le CCPE.
Comment Projet Arachnid se concilie-t-il avec les obligations de signalement en vigueur dans mon pays?
Pour l’instant, le système de Projet Arachnid envoie les demandes de retrait directement aux fournisseurs de services situés aux États-Unis ou au Canada. Ces deux pays obligent les fournisseurs de services à signaler la « pornographie juvénile » soit à la police, soit à une autre entité autorisée. Chaque pays dicte, selon le type de fournisseur, ses exigences quant à la nature du matériel à signaler, au destinataire du signalement et au délai à respecter. Lorsque des images d’abus pédosexuels sont détectées chez un fournisseur de services qui semble être situé dans un pays autre que le Canada ou les États-Unis, Projet Arachnid en informe la centrale de signalement du pays en question. Il revient alors à cette dernière de s’acquitter de ses obligations vis-à-vis du fournisseur sur son territoire.
L’API est-elle dotée d’un mécanisme permettant de faciliter le respect des obligations de signalement?
Nous travaillons en ce moment avec le National Centre for Missing and Exploited Child (NCMEC) aux États-Unis pour faire en sorte que Project Arachnid puisse faciliter le respect des obligations de signalement en vigueur dans ce pays.

Appuis

Les gouvernements et organismes suivants soutiennent les objectifs du Projet Arachnid :